Tonight, “Friends of the Homeless” is meeting at my house so I figured I should clean. I don’t know why, but the instant you pull out Windex, the kids go crazy. “Can I help?” “Ya, can I do some of that?” Ask them to clean their rooms and they’ll flop on the floor and writhe and groan in agony. But, bring out a squirt bottle filled with deadly chemicals and it’s a different story. Usually, it turns into a big fight with the kids yelling at each other about who gets to hold the bottle; who’s doing a better job; who’s squirted burning blue chemical solutions into who’s eyes; yada yada yada.

But, today, something amazing happened. Today, my kids actually cooperated – with each other. They didn’t just coexist in a single physical space. They didn’t just do their own things in the presence of the other. Today, they actually worked together to accomplish a single goal. Oh sure, Thelonious did grunt “I-O-neee” through gritted teeth more than once. And, Ione did slam the door a couple dozen times. But, for the most part, there was a spirit of cooperation. I was so shocked I had to actually pull out the camera for some photojournalistic proof.

And, to top it all off, the door is actually cleaner than when they started!

