Following is a thought on 1 John 3:18-24. You are completely more than welcome to disagree with me – BUT, if you do, you have to post a comment. Here’s the thought.

I dunno bout you, but I kinda had it stuck in my head that doubt was bad. Doubt is an obstacle to be defeated and destroyed. Insecurity is the barrier between me and faith. If I just believe harder, doubt will crumble, I’ll feel secure, and my faith will be complete. But, what if life is a spiral instead of linear? What if insecurity isn’t something we have to conquer on the path to perfection, but instead is something that we feel when we try to follow God’s command (to love each other as Jesus loved loved), which drives us right back to God saying, “I can’t do it” and His response is “I know. You’re so beautiful. Rest. I WANT to be with you, I want to be one WITH you. And, remember, follow my command.” So, we try to follow God’s command and love each other, which drives us right back to God saying, “I can’t do it” and His response is, “I know. You’re so beautiful. Rest. I WANT to be with you, I want to be one WITH you. And, remember, follow my command.” So, we try to follow God’s command and love each other, which drives us right back to God saying, “I can’t do it” and His response is, “I know…” And, as we live our lives, as we walk out our individual journeys of faith within a community, we keep coming back to the same spot, and that is just part of faith. And we keep getting closer and closer and closer to the center – only by seeing that same spot over and over and over again.

If that thought just doesn’t make sense out of the bigger context, click here and listen to the whole podcast.

